Types of Chikitsa

Types of Chikitsa/ Treatment in Ayurveda

In literal terms chikitsa means treatment. That means any effort done to maintain the equilibrium between the doshas and panchabhootas and to maintain state of healthy life and to cure the diseased state. In ayurveda there are mentioned different types of chikitsa.

Classification of Chikitsa
Ekvidha Chikitsa or single chikitsa: Nidanparivarjan
Nidana means the cause or factor of the disease and parivarjana means to leave that particular cause or factor that promote the disequilibrium between the dosha, dhatu & mala, eventually leading to samprapti (pathogenesis) of the disease.
Nidanaparivarjana in ayurveda is the main line of treatment, as it become easy to treat the disease once the root cause will be avoided.

Dwividha chikitsa or two types of treatment
Swasthaurjaskar and Rogaghana
Swasthaurjaskar: refers to the remedies applied for the prevention of the disease to maintain the state of health. On the basis of usage or purpose for which this remedy is used Urjaskar is further divided into the two following categories:
Rasayana and vajikarna
Rasayana: These are the remedies applied for rejuvenation and are associated with physical & physiological aspects of health
Vajikarna: These are the remedies applied for increasing the sexual vigor and vitaliity in human beings.
Both Rasayan &Vajikaran serve preventive and therapeutic aspects.

This refers to the remedies applied to cure the ailment or disease. These remedies are classified as follows:
Rogprashaman: This refers to the treatments aspect that are applied to cure the disease but it is unable to prevent the recurrence of disease.

Apunarbhava: This refers to the treatments that are able to cure the recurrence of the disease.
Again, Dwividha chikitsa is of two types;
Sodhana and Shamana

Sodhana chikitsa: means all the remedies done to eliminate the toxins from the body or to purify the body from the toxins. This can be done through the processes of panchakarma.
Shamana chikitsa: remedies done to treat the disease in the form of oral medications.
Trividh Chikitsa or three types of treatments
Dev vyapashray:This refers to faith healing or the methods related to belief of any individual. Generally all these methods have a religious reasoning behind them. These include uses of mantra- Jap (in the form of prayers), Aushadhi- Dharan means to wear beads of Rudraksha or other herbs, Tirthyatra (to visit religious shrines) to offer prayers to god.

Yukti vyapashray:It refers to the ideas implied to decide a regimen for the management of the treatment and medication of the patient.
Example: combinations of medicines, dosage of particular medicines etc. depending upon factors like age, severity of the disease etc.

Satvawaya:It refers to the remedies that are concerned with healthy and ideal life style, that eventually leads to physical and physiological well being.Example: yoga, meditation, following dincharayas, ritucharayas, ratricharyas etc

Trividh Chikitsa Upakram (Three types of therapies)
Antaparimarjan:This refers to the medicines that are consumed orally.

Bahiparimarjan:This refers to the medicines that are consumed for local application like massage, poultices etc.

Shastra Pranidhan:This refers to the remedies that are in the form of surgical procedures involving the use of surgical instruments.