Chikitsa Pada chatushtayam

Chikitsa Pada chatushtayam
The  term chikitsa pada chatushtayam comprises three words, chikitsa + pada + chatushtayam. Here chikitsa means treatment, pada means pods and chatushtayam means four in number. It means four pillars i.e. quadric pods of treatment. These four pillars of treatment,  when present all together  only then the treatment of any kind is possible, failing which the treatment would be the treatment would be impossible. These four are having their own importance and have their characteristic feature. These are:
•    Vaidya, the doctor
•    Rogi, the patient
•    Aushadi, the medicine
•    Upastha, the assistanat or the nurse
These are the four pillars which should be present to make treatment possible. According to ayurveda,  these four Vaidya, rogi, aushadi and upastha each should have further  following four special qualities:
1. Vaidya (The Doctor)
The doctor must be abreast with the following four qualities:
Shrut: Doctor should be well versed in his theoretical knowledge. He should have a clear vision about his field.
Bahusho Drishta Karma: Doctor should have an extensive practical experience in the fields of clinical diagnosis, pharmacology and treatment.
Dakshya: Doctor should have a good presence of mind and should render his services promptly in need.
Shauch: Doctor should follow the medical ethics whole heartily.
2. Rogi (The Patient)
Similar to the doctor there are certain qualities mentioned in ayurveda  for the patient too:
Smruti (memory): The patient should have a good memory as regards to the dos and don’ts as advised by the doctor.
Nirdesha karitvam (obedience): It means the patient should obey and follow his doctor completely.
Abhiruta (courage in facing disease): The patient must have the courage or dare to face the disease and not get dishearted or depressed by his problem.
Gyapakatvam (ability in describing the disease): The patient must give a proper and clear view about his disease or provides  detailed history of his present complaint, past history of disease (if any), drug history (if any) etc.
3. Aushad-dravya (The medicine)
There are four important things that refer to the medicine:
Bahuta (abundance): Availability of medicines should be in large quantity, so that no shortage will be there when required.
Yogyatvam (applicability): The medicine should be potent enough and capable of treating the disease without any side effects.
Anekvidh Kalpana (utilised in various forms): The medicine must be capable to form different types of combinations to get the desired results.
Sampati (wholesome):
The medicine must have a potency of not being effected by seasonal changes, worms etc.
4. Upastha (nurse)
Four qualities of the nurse or the attendant for the treatment of the disease and the patient:
Upchar yogyata: The person for this purpose must be well trained in their profession.
Dakshata: The person should be skilful with a good presence of mind while assisting the doctor.
Bhartari:  The person should render their services to the patients with great affection.
Shaucham: The person should be sincere in her duties and must follow the ethics of nursing strictly.